Le Journal Sportif.Com

Le Journal Sportif, is the Bridge between, the Old and the New Sports Generations.
   Our Mission      Haiti Cherie      Gold Cup 2010

    Send to a friend | Subscribe
 Caribbean cup to start August 18
 CONCACAF withdraws support from organization of CAC Games
 CONCACAF referees Archundia, Rodriguez under consideration for World Cup final

Caribbean cup to start August 18

Caribbean qualifying for the CONCACAF Gold Cup will open August 18 in Antigua and Puerto Rico and finish with the Digicel Caribbean Championship final in Martinique on November 28, the CFU announced Tuesday.

Sixteen teams will open the competition in four groups of four at Puerto Rico, Antigua & Barbuda, Barbados and the Dominican Republic with the group winners and two best runners-up advancing to a second round. They will join second-round hosts Guyana, Grenada and Guadeloupe as well as seeded sides Netherlands Antilles, eight-time champion Trinidad & Tobago and Haiti in three groups of four, from which the winners and runners-up will qualify for a final group stage.

Martinique and defending champion Jamaica will enter in the third round beginning November 19 in Martinique, making two groups of four that will produce four semifinalists -- the Caribbean representatives to next year’s Gold Cup.

To view the complete schedule please click here.